News:

Thank you for your patience during the Forum downtime while we upgraded the software. Welcome back and see this thread for some new features and other changes to the forum.

Main Menu

This is why everyone hates in-car navigation systems

Started by ZLoth, February 07, 2015, 08:44:15 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ZLoth

From The Verge:

This is why everyone hates in-car navigation systems
QuoteSubaru recently posted a YouTube video touting Starlink, the company's in-house navigation and entertainment system. You'd think they'd make it look good; companies are typically in the business of making their products seem like pure, unfiltered magic. Not Subaru, which is apparently content to let its in-dash electronics trainwreck over the course of one minute, 43 seconds.
FULL ARTICLE HERE
I'm an Engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is beauty?", because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems and call them "paychecks".

empirestate

Oh man, I can see it in the actor's face even. He's gamely trying to do his job, but I can picture all the outtakes:

Director: "OK, now just scroll it over to the left."
Actor: "OK...wait, hang on...oops, went too far, now back...agh! Dammit, I zoomed out by mistake! Sorry Joel, lemme just try it from the top again."

hm insulators

Something to be said for good-old-fashioned paper road maps!
Remember: If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy.

I'd rather be a child of the road than a son of a ditch.

At what age do you tell a highway that it's been adopted?

NE2

pre-1945 Florida route log

I accept and respect your identity as long as it's not dumb shit like "identifying as a vaccinated attack helicopter".

jakeroot