News:

Thanks to everyone for the feedback on what errors you encountered from the forum database changes made in Fall 2023. Let us know if you discover anymore.

Main Menu

Anybody want to work on Wikipedia?

Started by Scott5114, December 31, 2009, 07:24:33 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Scott5114

For those of you who don't know, I'm also an admin over at Wikipedia, where I do a lot of work with the U.S. Roads WikiProject (USRD for short). Well, we've got lots of articles that need expansion, and a lot of states have exactly zero people editing them, so we need more roadgeeks! If you're interested in participating, take a look at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wikipedia:WikiProject_U.S._Roads/New_user_orientation – this is a new page we've put together to help new users. So if you've ever thought about contributing (or contributing more), this page can help you make sense of things!

Editing at Wikipedia is a lot of fun, especially if you like learning highway history, because you're always turning up new things about the roads you're writing about. You get to meet more roadgeeks too!

If you've got any questions, post away!
uncontrollable freak sardine salad chef

US71

I've posted some to the Arkansas Highway pages, but the format seems tedious. Especially when some ignorant twit just starts entering stuff without any sort of verification.  :pan:
Like Alice I Try To Believe Three Impossible Things Before Breakfast

Chris

I used to work on the Dutch wikipedia, but got tired of all those linguistic purists there. The Dutch wikipedia is large in quantity, but small in quality, it is nowhere near the English wikipedia, so I almost always use the English wikipedia first. For instance, if you look up the Dallas, Texas page on the Dutch wikipedia, it's about 7 sentences of text, some uninteresting trivia and that's it.

rawmustard