News:

The AARoads Wiki is live! Come check it out!

Main Menu

Highway Advisory Radio

Started by ZLoth, September 04, 2016, 09:57:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ZLoth

Anyone know any details on the highway advisory radio systems, specifically for the state of California? I'm specifically looking for the transmitter power strengths, or, more specifically, the lack-of-power strengths. Also, any idea why they still use AM and not simulcast on FM?
I'm an Engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is beauty?", because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems and call them "paychecks".

briantroutman

The FCC has a page about Highway Advisory Radio - HAR (a.k.a. Travelers' Information Stations - TIS) here:
https://www.fcc.gov/media/radio/travelers-information-stations-search

You can also use this page to find stations in a specific state or within a range of frequencies. Each separate station has a detailed info page listing its total radiated power, frequency, transmitter location, transmitter height, call sign (like WQQG691), licensing agency, etc.

For AM broadcast, HAR stations are limited to a radiated power of 10 watts, a tower height of 15 meters, and a coverage radius of 3 km.

States and municipalities may also broadcast on FM through the FCCs Low Power FM (LPFM) program, and you will find some FM travel and weather stations in places. If I had to guess as to why AM is by far the more popular band, it may be due to the fact that FM requires a clear line of sight between the transmitter and the motorist receiving the broadcast, requiring that the tower be much higher (the FCC allows 30 m instead of 10 m for AM transmitters), particularly in hilly terrain where FM may not work well at all.

KEVIN_224