News:

Thanks to everyone for the feedback on what errors you encountered from the forum database changes made in Fall 2023. Let us know if you discover anymore.

Main Menu

"Mushrooms" and other road warning lights-- looking for info, locations, etc.

Started by JonasClark, March 15, 2018, 03:51:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JonasClark

I'm brand new to this site, which seems to be the only major road infrastructure forum going. I'm a Seattle resident with a personal interest in lighting and lamps, and I'll dive right into what I'm trying to find. As a young child, I noticed some warning lights, all over Seattle, and even in Renton where I grew up. My father pointed them out and liked to claim they were "warning critters" blinking at drivers. The common type has a pair of amber lenses, the lights behind which blink, under a half-round domed cover, and was mounted at the 'nose' of a street island or median. The ones I knew all got removed or quit working over the years.

As an adult, I ran across a working one, and then another, and another. I went out in 2005 and photographed all the ones I remembered, and examined a few up close. The covers are 75+ pounds of cast iron. The lamp boxes are steel, with two sockets inside; some I've looked into have been phenolic, others porcelain. The lamphouse mounts to, and the cover sits in, a back/baseplate (presumably also iron) which is set both into the asphant and onto the flat face of the island. There is no mechanism inside, and I suspect a nearby traffic signal control box contained a mechanical rotary flasher. I lifted a few and examined the inside. At that time, I knew of six working examples. Today, there are two (one a recent discovery, which no longer blinks). Three of the working ones I knew about have been completely removed. With some being part of Aurora/99, I'd hazard a guess that they're pre-WWII.