News:

Thank you for your patience during the Forum downtime while we upgraded the software. Welcome back and see this thread for some new features and other changes to the forum.

Main Menu

California drought doesn't end brown lawn warnings

Started by ZLoth, July 18, 2014, 03:41:04 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ZLoth

Only in California.... :pan: from SF Gate:

California drought doesn't end brown lawn warnings
Laura Whitney and her husband, Michael Korte, don't know whether they're being good citizens during a drought or scofflaws.

On the same day the state approved mandatory outdoor watering restrictions with the threat of $500 fines, the Southern California couple received a letter from their city threatening a $500 penalty for not watering their brown lawn.

It's brown because of their conservation, which, besides a twice-a-week lawn watering regimen, includes shorter showers and larger loads of laundry.
FULL ARTICLE HERE
I'm an Engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is beauty?", because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems and call them "paychecks".

bing101

This is one factor that can cause California to split into 6 states and its water policies. I'm not surprised that Sacramento and Solano counties are the scapegoats for the rest of the state. The delta Tunnel in Rio Vista is one factor and water rationing policies that the Sacramento Valley and Delta had to take to conserve water.

roadman

Quoteso long as it's aesthetically pleasing and it's not blighted

Great reasons to force people to waste water - not!
"And ninety-five is the route you were on.  It was not the speed limit sign."  - Jim Croce (from Speedball Tucker)

"My life has been a tapestry
Of years of roads and highway signs" (with apologies to Carole King and Tom Rush)

NJRoadfan