News:

The AARoads Wiki is live! Come check it out!

Main Menu

Port Angeles <=> Vancouver Island Ferry

Started by ZLoth, August 01, 2013, 12:43:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ZLoth

I'm an Engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is beauty?", because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems and call them "paychecks".

formulanone

I took the M.V. Coho back in 2000, and it was about a 75-minute journey. The middle 30 minutes on each ride featured lots of tilting back and forth along the Strait of Juan de Fuca.

We didn't take a car, as we have family in Port Angeles, so we walked on.

aridawn

The last time I checked, Victoria Island was located in the Arctic.  Are you referring to the city of Victoria located on Vancouver Island?

formulanone

Alps

Kniwt

Took it northbound about four weeks ago. Nothing really much to write about. But if you're going at anything even close to a popular time, you'll probably want to pay extra to reserve a spot in advance at their website. A Tuesday 8 a.m. sailing was close to -- but not quite -- full.

When you enter the ferry complex, you drive up to a payment window, where you also have to show passports (etc.) for all passengers. Everyone also has to complete a yellow card with your full name, and the card is collected before you drive onboard, for the Coast Guard.

There's free wi-fi in the auto waiting area, although you need a password. To get it, walk into the ferry office and ask.

No access to vehicles is allowed after you drive on until just before arriving in Victoria. BRING YOUR JACKET. It's cold and windy. Always.