There's Now an Automotive Grade Linux for Open Source Cars

Started by ZLoth, July 03, 2014, 11:44:12 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ZLoth

From Gizmodo:

There's Now an Automotive Grade Linux for Open Source Cars
QuoteThere's no denying your car's dashboard is pretty dumb, which is why Microsoft, Apple and Google are all trying to smarten it up. But there's also a new open source source alternative, in the shape of Automotive Grade Linux.

AGL is a Linux distribution tailored for cars , and it's a collaborative project between the Linux Foundation and a wide-ranging list of companies in the automotive industry, including Jaguar Land Rover, Toyota and Nissan. The first release, now available for free online, is based on Tizen IVI–which is famously used in some phones, but also appears in TVs and some cars already.
FULL ARTICLE HERE
I'm an Engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is beauty?", because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems and call them "paychecks".

doorknob60

What would be nice is to choose my Car's dashboard OS separately from the auto manufacturer. Not going to happen though. If a car I want comes with Apple's OS, I'm SOL unless I want to replace the entire unit. Luckily (I guess), I don't have the money to buy a new car with these fancy features. Give me FM Radio and an Aux in (or tape deck with adapter) and I'm good to go.

bugo

I want a car with a plain old radio and knobs controlling the HVAC.  I don't want a GPS, or a TV screen, or sync, or any of that bullshit.  I can operate my current car by feel, and I don't want to be any more distracted than I already am.

ZLoth

Quote from: bugo on July 03, 2014, 06:55:31 PM
I want a car with a plain old radio and knobs controlling the HVAC.  I don't want a GPS, or a TV screen, or sync, or any of that bullshit.  I can operate my current car by feel, and I don't want to be any more distracted than I already am.