News:

Thank you for your patience during the Forum downtime while we upgraded the software. Welcome back and see this thread for some new features and other changes to the forum.

Main Menu

Going To Bars Alone

Started by The Nature Boy, July 24, 2014, 11:16:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

The Nature Boy

This is an absurdly random topic but I'm thinking of heading to the Charlotte area to visit family this weekend. Outside of the aforementioned family, I don't know anyone in the city so I want to hit up the local bar scene. When I go out, I usually have a couple of friends with me so I am new to the idea of going solo.

Any tips and tricks to avoid being seen as a creeper loner? Is it possible that people may see it as a bit weird that I'm out alone?

Also, any Charlotteans with bar tips?

corco

What I do if I go alone in a strange city is a few things:

1) Go early
2) Make sure there's a sporting event on

It's not awkward at all to go to a bar, sit down at a stool, watch the game, kick back a few brews, and talk to the folks around you. If you're there and you're having a good time, you can stay later when it starts to get fun. If you're not feeling the vibe, switch bars.

If I walk into an unfamiliar bar alone when it's busy and I cant relax and get comfortable with my surroundings first, I almost always end up leaving in 15 minutes or so because I feel like a weirdo, so for me the key is to get there early when other solo drinkers are there, and sometimes those folks want to talk.

That being said, people really aren't anywhere near as observant as you think they are, nor do they particularly care about what you're doing. The better you are at convincing yourself of this (may you be better than me at it), the easier it is to go to a restaurant or bar alone. Personally, I wake up every morning giving just a little bit less of a shit about what people think than I did the day before, so eventually I won't care at all.

triplemultiplex