News:

The AARoads Wiki is live! Come check it out!

Main Menu

Any Runners?

Started by Max Rockatansky, February 20, 2017, 12:59:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Max Rockatansky

Since there was a bike riding thread that was just created why not a running thread also?   I do about 1,700-2,000 miles a year as part of my exercise routine and I have a couple marathons under my belt.  I've been running for close to 25 years now and haven't had really any significant leg injuries...been hit twice though.  I prefer outdoor due to the full impact and don't really use anything beyond standard Nike running shoes in addition to a good 20-32oz bottle of Poweraid.  Right now my routine is three run days at distances of; 13.3 miles, 13.3 miles, and a shorter 8 miles to close the week out.  Really as of late I've noticed that it has helped a ton with not getting elevation sickness, especially after those two big trips I did last year in the Rockies and Colorado Plateau.

I do three days of strength training as well and focus mainly on calve muscles more than anything else with legs.  I've kind of found it is the people don't do the strength training that are the ones who getting hurt in general with cardio activity.  I still prefer running over biking because it takes about 3.5 miles a bike to do what you can on one mile on foot outside.  I have a Fitbit but the thing hasn't transmitted in a year and I use it mainly to see my distance, I used to use Google Maps prior to create routed go over by a quarter mile because the accuracy was questionable.

So I guess the questions are this....are there any other runners out there?  If so, what are you routines, preferred training methods, what type of running shoe do you use, how to you handle dehydration, ect? 

inkyatari

I had started to run, but my knees wouldn't have it, plus after foot surgery, I really can't run anymore.
I'm never wrong, just wildly inaccurate.

CNGL-Leudimin