News:

Needing some php assistance with the script on the main AARoads site. Please contact Alex if you would like to help or provide advice!

Main Menu

HD Radio - More dead than AM?

Started by ZLoth, March 21, 2014, 03:50:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ZLoth

I know that AM radio seems to be fairly dead, but what about HD radio? I'm doing some car shopping, and I'm noticing that I'm more likely to see a car equipped with satellite radio receivers than HD radio.
I'm an Engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is beauty?", because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems and call them "paychecks".

nexus73

HD Radio has reception problems when in a vehicle.  Being at home you can get the same signal consistently but not so when driving around.  That's too bad as it sounded like a good idea.  A station could get extra channels to transmit on for around $50K, which is dirt cheap in the broadcasting biz. 

In Oregon the majority of HD Radio transmitters are on the PBS networks.  The adoption rate for HD Radio is abysmally low by consumers so there never was a solid push by commercial broadcasters to jump in. 

Rick
US 101 is THE backbone of the Pacific coast from Bandon OR to Willits CA.  Industry, tourism and local traffic would be gone or severely crippled without it being in functioning condition in BOTH states.

Henry

Quote from: nexus73 on March 21, 2014, 10:22:40 AM
HD Radio has reception problems when in a vehicle.  Being at home you can get the same signal consistently but not so when driving around.  That's too bad as it sounded like a good idea.  A station could get extra channels to transmit on for around $50K, which is dirt cheap in the broadcasting biz. 

In Oregon the majority of HD Radio transmitters are on the PBS networks.  The adoption rate for HD Radio is abysmally low by consumers so there never was a solid push by cmmercial broadcasters to jump in. 

Rick