Americans really don't want to pay for music in their cars

Started by ZLoth, May 03, 2015, 10:49:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ZLoth

From Music Business Worldwide:

Americans really don't want to pay for music in their cars
QuoteThe Holy Grail for the future of the music business, we're told, is billions of people around the world paying a monthly subscription fee for digital audio services.

But new data out of the US suggests that nation's motorists just aren't ready to play ball. And that's a worry. Because according to estimates, there's more than 210m of them.

According to research from trusted pollster Ipsos, an overwhelming majority of American drivers still prefer listening to free AM or FM radio in their cars instead of digital services such as Pandora, Spotify and Sirius XM.
FULL ARTICLE HERE
I'm an Engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is beauty?", because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems and call them "paychecks".

SP Cook

What a weird spin on poll results.  "Only" 27.3 MILLION subscribers to SXM.

Of course a lot of people are never going to pay for SXM.  A lot of people have a single musical taste or talk radio taste that is satisfied for free on FM or even AM.  More are happy with their own music, either on their cell phone or an "old fashioned" CD.   A lot of people don't listen to the radio at all.   And a lot of people would like SXM, but simply cannot afford it.  And a lot of people spend a very small amount of time in their cars on a regular basis.

"Only" 27.3 MILLION subscribers?  What did they expect?  Something like cable/dbs with near ubiquity?  Never was the plan.