News:

Thank you for your patience during the Forum downtime while we upgraded the software. Welcome back and see this thread for some new features and other changes to the forum.

Main Menu

Indiana I-64 question

Started by ShawnP, January 19, 2011, 08:00:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ShawnP

Anyone have a pretty good time line of completion dates on I-64 in Indiana? I know I-64 was done in Illinois from 72-76 time frame as I have a decent shape 73 Rand McNally Atlas.

NE2

Have you used bridge dates to get rough dates (+-1-2 years)?
pre-1945 Florida route log

I accept and respect your identity as long as it's not dumb shit like "identifying as a vaccinated attack helicopter".

ShawnP

RoadWarrior56

I have a good knowledge of when sections of I-64 opened in Indiana.  I lived in Evansville when it was being constructed, and I worked as a co-op in the INDOT Vincennes district at the time.  It is one of my favorite interstates in the country.

It was constructed from both borders and met in the middle.

E- Sherman Minton Bridge - Opened around 1961

E -SR 62 in New Albany up Floyds Knobs to SR 62(US 460)/SR 64 exit- Opened late 1967 or early 1968 (about 5-6 miles)

W-IL 1 just over the Wabash River to US 41 exit (25 miles)

W- US 41 exit to SR 57 exit (4 miles) - late 1971

W- SR 57 exit to SR 61 exit (10 miles) - late 1973

E- SR 62(US 460)/SR 64 to SR 135 exit (13 miles) - late 1973

W- SR 61 exit to US 231 exit (approx. 20 miles)- mid 1975

E- SR 135 exit to SR 37 N. exit (approx 15-20 miles) - late 1975

Last segment - US 231 exit to SR 37 N. exit (25-30 miles) - September 15, 1976

During the nearly 1 year when there was the single gap in the middle, INDOT put I-64 signs along the US 460/SR 62 sign assemblies.  They weren't trailblazers, I-64 was actually co-signed.

A few weeks after I-64 was completed in Indiana, US 460 was decommissioned in Indiana and Illinois.