Will Sunpass work on EZPass lanes in Virginia and Maryland?

Started by norahs, March 18, 2013, 12:04:26 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

norahs

Hello everybody.. I am a former resident of northern Virginia and now a resident of central Florida.  I've researched my question but still can't find the answer as it stands today.  I have a Sunpass which is interchangeable with EZPass all through Florida.  I also often travel to northern VA which now has toll lanes on the Beltway and probably soon everywhere else, and I also cross Bay Bridge to the eastern shore beaches pretty often.  So before that I ass-u-me that Sunpass and EZPass are interchangeable outside of Florida... will my Sunpass work in EZPass lanes in Virginia and Maryland?

cpzilliacus

Quote from: norahs on March 18, 2013, 12:04:26 AM
Hello everybody.. I am a former resident of northern Virginia and now a resident of central Florida.  I've researched my question but still can't find the answer as it stands today.  I have a Sunpass which is interchangeable with EZPass all through Florida.  I also often travel to northern VA which now has toll lanes on the Beltway and probably soon everywhere else, and I also cross Bay Bridge to the eastern shore beaches pretty often.  So before that I ass-u-me that Sunpass and EZPass are interchangeable outside of Florida... will my Sunpass work in EZPass lanes in Virginia and Maryland?

As I understand it, E-ZPass and SunPass are working on interoperability, but are not yet there.   

Regarding E-ZPass, I am not aware of any E-ZPass transponder that is accepted in any state to the south of North Carolina (see map here).
Opinions expressed here on AAROADS are strictly personal and mine alone, and do not reflect policies or positions of MWCOG, NCRTPB or their member federal, state, county and municipal governments or any other agency.

mtantillo