News:

The AARoads Wiki is live! Come check it out!

Main Menu

US Route 27 in south Florida

Started by Max Rockatansky, June 19, 2021, 03:01:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Max Rockatansky

When I was a Florida resident I often found myself traveling between Tampa and Orlando towards Key West for work.  That being the case trips on Interstate 75 through Alligator Alley and Florida's Turnpike wound up getting stale fast.  US Route 27 south of Interstate 4 served as a much more placid and scenic alternative to the substantially more boring limited access roads.  US Route 27 was extended south of Tallahassee to Miami during June of 1948 and went through a significant number of realignments during the 1950s.  US Route 27 today is a well developed surface expressway south of Interstate 4 which traverses some of the more interesting regions of south Florida such as; the Lake Wales Ridge, the south shore of Lake Okeechobee and the Everglades.

https://www.gribblenation.org/2021/06/us-route-27-in-southern-florida.html

Flint1979

I used US-27 for a little bit around Delray when I was in Florida about 2 months ago.

1995hoo

I thought about going that way on our most recent trip to Broward County earlier this year but ultimately didn't. How many lights are there? Would it take substantially longer than, say, the Turnpike?
"You know, you never have a guaranteed spot until you have a spot guaranteed."
—Olaf Kolzig, as quoted in the Washington Times on March 28, 2003,
commenting on the Capitals clinching a playoff spot.

"That sounded stupid, didn't it?"
—Kolzig, to the same reporter a few seconds later.

Max Rockatansky

Quote from: 1995hoo on June 19, 2021, 05:38:59 PM
I thought about going that way on our most recent trip to Broward County earlier this year but ultimately didn't. How many lights are there? Would it take substantially longer than, say, the Turnpike?