News:

Thanks to everyone for the feedback on what errors you encountered from the forum database changes made in Fall 2023. Let us know if you discover anymore.

Main Menu

Hello from St. Louis!

Started by wolfiefrick, December 23, 2015, 09:46:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

wolfiefrick

Hi all! I discovered this forum when I was nine years old but my parents wouldn't let me sign up for it. I left it alone for awhile and I'm a new member! Let me tell you a bit about myself- I was born, raised, and currently live in the St. Louis metropolitan area of eastern Missouri, right along the mighty Mississippi River, I'm fourteen years old, and I've loved roads since I was young.

When I was five, I started drawing interchanges on pieces of paper and making road signs out of paper and wooden dowels. When I was seven, my parents were taking a road trip to Chicago and the crappy GPS suggested a route that was horrendously indirect, so I proposed a more direct route for them and they arrived hours before the rest of the party. When I was nine, I rode shotgun on a road trip to Florida and directed my mother, who looked at me when I gave her directions as if I had two heads, but the routes were more direct than what she argued and they ended up being faster, much to her amazement. When I was eleven, for my birthday I got a set of pine wood planks and started building intricate interchanges with them. And when I was thirteen, I took a trip to San Francisco and directed my very confused father for most of the way around the confusing roads of that area.

People around my high school call me the "walking map" and are constantly asking me for more direct routes across town. One of my hobbies is maintaining a Minecraft server I created a few years ago and a massive transportation system spawned, with more than 16 highways and thousands of roads, all the result of thousands of hours of work.