News:

Thanks to everyone for the feedback on what errors you encountered from the forum database changes made in Fall 2023. Let us know if you discover anymore.

Main Menu

Pennsylvania

Started by Alex, March 07, 2009, 07:01:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

LilianaUwU

Quote from: D-Dey65 on April 08, 2024, 04:30:47 PMIt looks like they replaced an old rickety one-lane bridge with a new look-alike one-lane bridge.
Then again, does Pond Eddy really have enough traffic to warrant more than one lane?
"Volcano with no fire... Not volcano... Just mountain."
—Mr. Thwomp

My pronouns are she/her. Also, I'm an admin on the AARoads Wiki.

D-Dey65

Quote from: LilianaUwU on April 08, 2024, 07:26:36 PM
Quote from: D-Dey65 on April 08, 2024, 04:30:47 PMIt looks like they replaced an old rickety one-lane bridge with a new look-alike one-lane bridge.
Then again, does Pond Eddy really have enough traffic to warrant more than one lane?
All the other roads there are two lanes... on both sides of the Delaware. Two makes more sense, and is sufficient. Nobody is requesting a super-highway here.

BTW, I was originally going to post this on the Bridges board, but I couldn't find any existing thread worth connecting the message to. My other option was the New York board, but there's a lot more messages there than in Pennsylvania.

Rothman

Quote from: D-Dey65 on April 08, 2024, 04:30:47 PMI just discovered this while sorting out pictures of Sullivan County, New York, and other images related to the Catskills and vicinity. What the hell is up with the replacement for the Pond Eddy Bridge?
https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Pond_Eddy_Bridge_construction.jpg

It looks like they replaced an old rickety one-lane bridge with a new look-alike one-lane bridge.

One word: SHPO.  And, one lane is all that's needed.
Please note: All comments here represent my own personal opinion and do not reflect the official position(s) of NYSDOT.

rickmastfan67