News:

Thanks to everyone for the feedback on what errors you encountered from the forum database changes made in Fall 2023. Let us know if you discover anymore.

Main Menu

Greetings from Iowa

Started by IowaTraveler, May 03, 2022, 11:00:08 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

IowaTraveler

Hello everyone! I've finally put in the time to make an account and write up an introduction post after lurking here for about two years. Now that I've stopped procrastinating and gotten that out of the way, I look forward to finally being able to contribute to discussions.

As for a bit about myself, I'm a lifelong resident of Iowa and I am currently a college student. I've had a lifelong interest in most things road-related that was at least partially fueled by the trips to visit family in northeast Iowa, Indiana, and Michigan that I went on growing up. Now that I have my own car, I've spent the last few years taking trips to explore Iowa's county road system and visit new counties (Hence the username).

As for my specific roadgeek interests, I really like the sound and feel of driving on concrete roads, and I've always been amazed by the wide variety of sounds that can be made by different grooving patterns. Another one of my main road-related interests is the history of highways, such as how alignments and construction standards have evolved over time.

Thanks for taking the time to read this, and I look forward to meeting you all.

hotdogPi

Welcome from Massachusetts!
Clinched, minus I-93 (I'm missing a few miles and my file is incorrect)

Traveled, plus US 13, 44, and 50, and several state routes

I will be in Burlington VT for the eclipse.

KCRoadFan

MATraveler128

Welcome from the Boston area!
Decommission 128 south of Peabody!

Lowest untraveled number: 56

kphoger

Hello from Kansas!  I have a lot of extended family in Iowa, and also my sister.  Are you at Iowa State University?
Keep right except to pass.  Yes.  You.
Visit scenic Orleans County, NY!