News:

Needing some php assistance with the script on the main AARoads site. Please contact Alex if you would like to help or provide advice!

Main Menu

My trip to Florida (from the Summerville GA area)

Started by capt.ron, September 25, 2015, 11:35:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

capt.ron

After my family reunion, I studied various routes in Google Maps from Summerville, GA to Panama City Beach FL. After studying about 4 alternatives, I decided to take GA 100 out of Summerville and staying off of US 27 until reaching Cedertown. The road had next to no traffic so I had time to check out the Georgian countryside. Plus, the road was in very good shape. At Cedertown, I made a right on to 27B and then drove US 27 to and through Lagrange. The section of 27 from Cedertown to Lagrange was in very good shape with most being 4 lane divided and some 4 lane w/ turn lane sections here and there. Upon reaching the northern part of Lagrange, the 4 lane divided section ends abruptly with a 20 mph (!!!) 90 degree turn to the right. I reckon sometime in the distant future, the 4 lane divided bypass will be built around the east side of Lagrange. The road turns into a 5 lane (4 lanes w/ turn lane) and enters town. On the southeast side, it is briefly a 2 lane road and passes through the old part of town. I follow US 27 until reaching I 185 and follow it to Phoenix City, AL. I went west on US 80 and then south on US 431 which is a nice 4 lane divided highway once leaving town. I reach Eufala and marvel at the very old homes and mansions that line the street. I continue on to Dothan and make my way around the circle to US 231. The section of 231 south of Dothan is nice and the Florida section is even nicer since they just got through repaving parts of it. The roads that I traveled in Florida were smooth and nice. I made somewhat of a detour... I was going to follow US 231 down to Panama City and then go west on 368 but instead made a right on FL 20 and went through some pine fore