News:

Needing some php assistance with the script on the main AARoads site. Please contact Alex if you would like to help or provide advice!

Main Menu

Cable radio

Started by bandit957, November 21, 2021, 10:07:19 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bandit957

Did anyone actually have this?

In the late '80s or so, I think our local cable TV system also had a separate service that offered cable FM radio, but I don't remember anyone actually having it. I remember seeing a list of stations it had, and almost all of them were ones we could pick up clearly anyway. The only one it had that we couldn't pick up clearly was WOXY (97-X). (Once in a great while, if you had your boom box tilted a certain way, you could get WOXY, but usually it was jammed out by WAXZ.)
Might as well face it, pooing is cool

ZLoth

I actually used a 75 ohm splitter and picked up the FM stations through the stereo receiver. Rarely used the feature. Nowadays, it's all streaming.
I'm an Engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is beauty?", because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems and call them "paychecks".

snowc

Quote from: ZLoth on November 21, 2021, 11:17:22 AM
I actually used a 75 ohm splitter and picked up the FM stations through the stereo receiver. Rarely used the feature. Nowadays, it's all streaming.
I dont even have splitters. My internet would be  :ded: with my ISP if I converted to radio. :D

1995hoo

My father tried it for a while when we first got cable TV, but he dropped it because he decided it wasn't worth it–the room in which the radio got listened to the most was by far the kitchen (by my mom in the morning) and there was (and is) no coaxial outlet for the cable connection in there.

One minor annoyance was that the cable company remapped all the radio stations to different frequencies (e.g., 94.7-FM was 94.3-FM via cable for no apparent reason).