News:

Thanks to everyone for the feedback on what errors you encountered from the forum database changes made in Fall 2023. Let us know if you discover anymore.

Main Menu

Why it’s so expensive to be single in the U.S.

Started by ZLoth, November 07, 2023, 05:59:45 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ZLoth

From CNBC:

Why it's so expensive to be single in the U.S.
QuoteThere's a good chance there are singles in your area. Nearly half of adults in the U.S. are currently single.

The 117.6 million unmarried, divorced or widowed Americans older than 18 account for 46% of the population, according to U.S. Census Bureau data.

That number has been growing slowly but steadily since the 1960s. As more adults are finding themselves single or remaining unmarried for longer, many are feeling crushed by the total weight of living expenses, which have also continued to grow in recent years.
FULL ARTICLE HERE
I'm an Engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is beauty?", because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems and call them "paychecks".

GaryV

Because 2 people make more money than 1 - they really had to write an article explaining that?

Rothman

So...housing, since there's only one of you to pay rent or a mortgage, and taxes, which they say is due to the 2017 tax reform which allegedly did away with the marriage penalty (something I find dubious -- penalty may have been reduced long before that).
Please note: All comments here represent my own personal opinion and do not reflect the official position(s) of NYSDOT.

Max Rockatansky

I had a solution to the problem when I owned a home and was single.  I just rented out the extra space and it more than made up for the dual-income deficit.  My wife did the exact same thing before we met with her house.