NYC restaurants impose 90-minute time limits on diners: ‘Out of control’

Started by ZLoth, April 09, 2023, 10:06:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ZLoth

From New York Post:

NYC restaurants impose 90-minute time limits on diners: "˜Out of control'
QuoteA few weeks ago, Christina Izzo, 33, was out with a couple of friends at Ye's Apothecary, a Szechuan restaurant and speakeasy that opened in NYC's Chinatown last year.

They asked to order some more food – the restaurant serves a menu of $12 to $15 small plates – but were told they couldn't: The clock was ticking and the 90 minutes allotted for their reservation were nearly up.
FULL ARTICLE HERE

Geez, I know that NYC is expensive to live and rent business space in, especially when you factor in the "loss factor", and that the margins tend to be thin in food service. But still, ninety minutes means you are gulping down the meals when they finally get served instead of savoring the food.
I'm an Engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is beauty?", because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems and call them "paychecks".

jeffandnicole

I've seen a few articles like this more, regarding time limitations.  It's a practical necessity, especially in a city where restaurants are small and turnover is a necessity.  Wanna lounge with friends?  You better be spending or tipping.

Also, let's talk about Ms. Christina Izzo, the featured 'guest' in the article.  She wanted to order more "$12 to $15 small plates".  Here's the restaurant's website:  https://www.yesapothecary.com/ . Here's their menu:  https://www.yesapothecary.com/menu .  Well, that's page 1 of the menu.  That's also the cheapest options.  There's one $12 small plate, and several $14.  But the next page shows many more $20+ options.  She wanted to overstay her 90 minute time limit to order the cheapest options on the menu.