Michigan Highways to Increase Speed Limit in Future

Started by _Demote, July 23, 2017, 12:36:01 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

_Demote

Hello. I haven't posted in a while but I found these articles and I thought I would share them with the AARoads community! I'm a new driver and when I drive on freeways like I-94 and U.S 131, I find myself and other drivers going 75-85 MPH. I'm glad that the state is increasing the speed limit so people can get to their destinations faster. Here are the very interesting articles
http://www.mlive.com/news/index.ssf/2017/01/75-mph_speed_limits_officially.html
http://www.mlive.com/news/index.ssf/2017/04/see_which_600_miles_of_michiga.html
Interstates Traveled: 80, 90, 190, 290, 294, 94, 194, 96, 196, 75, 275, 69, 469, 65, 465, 165, 565, 55, 40, 640, 17, 10, 110, 610, 5, 405, 11, 71, 24, 20, 12, and 59.

JREwing78

It's been discussed in the Michigan Notes thread pretty extensively.
https://www.aaroads.com/forum/index.php?topic=7953.msg2221254#msg2221254

Still waiting for the 65mph limits to get posted in da U.P., eh! But the 75mph limits on certain freeways (and the apparent boost in truck speed limits to 65mph on most freeways) is certainly welcome.

Flint1979

Northern Michigan has 75 mph speed limits. I've seen 75 mph signs on I-75, US 10 and US 127. This was done recently.

froggie

Quote from: JREwing78Still waiting for the 65mph limits to get posted in da U.P., eh!

You haven't been on US 2 east of Rapid River lately, have you?

JREwing78

Quote from: froggie on August 09, 2017, 11:08:25 AM
Quote from: JREwing78Still waiting for the 65mph limits to get posted in da U.P., eh!

No. But that was only done within the last few weeks. They've purposely slow-walked the upgrades, in part because it requires moving signs and restriping passing zones. I haven't seen any articles indicating other routes in the UP changing yet.

Flint1979

Most of the signs they switched to 75 mph they just put the 75 over the 70 and kept the same sign.