News:

Thank you for your patience during the Forum downtime while we upgraded the software. Welcome back and see this thread for some new features and other changes to the forum.

Main Menu

Multiple OKC-area highways, turnpikes to be designated as interstates

Started by thisdj78, March 08, 2024, 11:32:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

LilianaUwU

Quote from: Scott5114 on March 10, 2024, 03:59:32 AM
One thing we can all agree on, however, is that whatever is happening here makes a hell of a lot more sense than whatever is going on with I-27 now.
I won't be satisfied until there's I-27A thru Z.
"Volcano with no fire... Not volcano... Just mountain."
—Mr. Thwomp

My pronouns are she/her. Also, I'm an admin on the AARoads Wiki.

thisdj78

vdeane

Quote from: Scott5114 on March 10, 2024, 12:58:57 AM
Quote from: Bobby5280 on March 09, 2024, 08:11:45 PM
This notion of 3-digit routes beginning in 3 is a "system" that could only work on the state highway level. It is absolutely stupid to insist on it with Interstate named routes.

Well, yeah, but it needed to be said to prevent the endless parade of "it should be an even first digit instead". Nobody gives a damn about that rule in any other state (see: the other I-335), so if OTA has an actual reason they'd prefer a 3 there, that's good enough for me.

Trying to make the rejected I-42 a 3di starting in 3 would be asinine, but I don't think anyone ever actually proposed that.
I don't particularly care if I-344 is odd or even, but I don't like it and I-240 ending at each other like that.  If the I-240 extension were part of I-344 (minus the I-44 overlap, of course), I wouldn't care.  Lord knows NY has enough 3dis that would switch the odd/even numbering if we cared to strictly follow that rule.
Please note: All comments here represent my own personal opinion and do not reflect the official position of NYSDOT or its affiliates.

Scott5114