News:

Thank you for your patience during the Forum downtime while we upgraded the software. Welcome back and see this thread for some new features and other changes to the forum.

Main Menu

Best CA road map?

Started by Mdcastle, February 24, 2013, 01:44:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mdcastle

What's the best California road map that's currently in print? I understand that whatever official tourist maps there are for California are vastly inferior to commericial maps. I have a copy of the Benchmark map, and while it's nice that it show's topography it's kind of useless for driving or planning a road trip since it doesn't show distances. One that just covered the Bay area to Oregon would be find for my purposes, and  I'd also be interested if there's a good regional map that shows Sacremento to the Bay area.

CentralCAroadgeek

I'm no expert in the differences in map maker brands, but the Rand McNally map and the AAA map aren't that bad. I'm just saying my Rand McNally atlas since I have the ones that shows terrain...

mapman1071

KEK Inc.

Quote from: mapman1071 on February 24, 2013, 08:00:27 PM
Thomas Brothers.

Agreed, but it got bought out by Rand McNally in the 90s, and Rand McNally started messing with its format in 2005.   Now it's not even that unique compared to a normal Rand McNally map, and I don't really like Rand McNally's coloring scheme. 

Thomas Guide also used state shields in California, Arizona and Nevada.  They don't do it in other states that I'm aware of, though.
Take the road less traveled.

gonealookin

The CSAA Sectional and Regional Maps are still listed as available in the Travel --> Plan a Road Trip section at calstate.aaa.com.

For the Bay Area to Oregon, the Sectional Maps (scale 1 inch:9 miles) you want would be:
1.  Central California - Bay Area to Lake Tahoe.  Covers the area from a Monterey-Fresno line on the south to Fort Bragg-Willows-Oroville-Reno on the north.