News:

Thanks to everyone for the feedback on what errors you encountered from the forum database changes made in Fall 2023. Let us know if you discover anymore.

Main Menu

Suggestions for replacing Photobucket?

Started by 1995hoo, July 06, 2017, 09:24:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

1995hoo

I got two e-mails from Photobucket today saying they are restricting my account because I use it to post photos here and apparently that's a violation of their terms of service, although I've been using them for over ten years to post photos online. If I want to continue using their service for that purpose, they want me to "upgrade" my account for $400 a year.

That's not happening. Anyone got any recommendations for a free service that allows embedding on a site like this one? Even better if they have an iOS app that allows for direct uploads from an iPhone or iPad.

Thanks in advance.
"You know, you never have a guaranteed spot until you have a spot guaranteed."
—Olaf Kolzig, as quoted in the Washington Times on March 28, 2003,
commenting on the Capitals clinching a playoff spot.

"That sounded stupid, didn't it?"
—Kolzig, to the same reporter a few seconds later.

formulanone

$400!?! You can host your own website with very few restrictions for about $100-150/year.

Flickr gives you 1TB for free. They allow embedding, although you have to use the desktop version to post with BB Code. Flickr isn't crazy about those who de-link the photos purely for image storage. And I hear they have some decent administrators (can't say I've run into that problem, though).

It works on an iPad, but the code snippets don't appear in the iPhone app. The app is nice to maintain and browse your photos, or save/share, but it's not good at allowing direct linking an image to this forum. I think I've only directly uploaded a pic or two to Flickr...just to see how it worked. Flickr occasionally goes down at unexpected moments, but "bad panda" outages usually don't last too long.