News:

Thanks to everyone for the feedback on what errors you encountered from the forum database changes made in Fall 2023. Let us know if you discover anymore.

Main Menu

Charlotte interstates

Started by silverback1065, October 17, 2018, 09:04:41 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

silverback1065

I've been wondering about this for a while, what were Charlotte's originally planned interstates?  Looking at the map i find it hard to believe those were all the ones that were planned.  what was cancelled?  does anyone have any maps? or links to the history behind the routes?

hotdogPi

Keep in mind that Charlotte's current population is 4× what it was in the 1960s.
Clinched

Traveled, plus
US 13, 44, 50
MA 22, 40, 107, 109, 117, 119, 126, 141, 159
NH 27, 111A(E); CA 133; NY 366; GA 42, 140; FL A1A, 7; CT 32; VT 2A, 5A; PA 3, 51, 60, QC 162, 165, 263; 🇬🇧A100, A3211, A3213, A3215, A4222; 🇫🇷95 D316

silverback1065

are there any new ones planned?  I've never been there so I have no knowledge of the area.  (This is my first post in this part of the board)

Mapmikey

Quote from: silverback1065 on October 17, 2018, 09:04:41 AM
I've been wondering about this for a while, what were Charlotte's originally planned interstates?  Looking at the map i find it hard to believe those were all the ones that were planned.  what was cancelled?  does anyone have any maps? or links to the history behind the routes?

North Carolina didn't request any urban interstates until 1970.

There has been occasional chatter about a second loop encompassing 10 counties in NC-SC (starting before any of I-485 was built) but that has not cropped up lately AFAIK

froggie

Some individual route background can be found on the VHP NC Annex.