News:

Needing some php assistance with the script on the main AARoads site. Please contact Alex if you would like to help or provide advice!

Main Menu

Graffiti on Portland’s highways is a growing problem

Started by ZLoth, January 06, 2024, 04:25:38 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ZLoth

From KPTV Portland Oregon:

Graffiti on Portland's highways is a growing problem
QuoteAfter the Oregon Department of Transportation said several months ago they'd run out of funding to address graffiti off state roadways, it has started to cover important signage.

ODOT spokesperson Don Hamilton said while they're doing everything that they can to tackle the problem, it's not that easy.

"We struggle with these graffiti issues all the time every day, and people can't really get the good directions that they need to get on the roads," Hamilton said.
FULL ARTICLE HERE
I'm an Engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is beauty?", because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems and call them "paychecks".

SectorZ

Not just Portland. The entire I-93 corridor from Braintree MA to Manchester NH looks like complete ass now. It's actually worse on the NH side. I was hoping someone would tag mile-based exit numbers over the current ones to finally get their governor to do something about it.

jeffandnicole

Since most people tag stuff with their 'signature', law enforcement could investigate the tags, associate them with who is doing it, and arrest them.  Since this is generally considered petty stuff, most of it isn't investigated.