News:

The AARoads Wiki is live! Come check it out!

Main Menu

Why email hasn’t killed the fax

Started by ZLoth, January 16, 2018, 04:10:42 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ZLoth

From InfoWorld:

Why email hasn't killed the fax
We should have had a suitable alternative to the fax long ago, but email failed
QuoteOf all of the computing or digital technologies commercially available in 1964, you probably won't find any of them in a Staples today -- except the fax machine. We don't use dot-matrix printers anymore or CRT monitors or televisions. We've largely migrated from landlines to cellphones, and even our landlines are digital in most places these days. The technologies from that era are all museum pieces now, with the glaring exception of this ancient document transmission system that continues on like a zombie, devouring forests of paper and screaming 14,400bps modem tones.
FULL ARTICLE HERE
I'm an Engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is beauty?", because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems and call them "paychecks".

SSOWorld

There are plenty of reasons for this - one is them is fraud.
Scott O.

Not all who wander are lost...
Ah, the open skies, wind at my back, warm sun on my... wait, where the hell am I?!
As a matter of fact, I do own the road.
Raise your what?

Wisconsin - out-multiplexing your state since 1918.

sparker

Quote from: SSOWorld on January 16, 2018, 05:16:46 AM

Another reason is confirmation -- the sender knows that the receiver has gotten the message; there's no "gee -- must have been a problem with my mailbox!" excuses.  Now -- whether they respond..............

jeffandnicole

Quote from: sparker on January 16, 2018, 05:51:59 AM

Another reason is confirmation -- the sender knows that the receiver has gotten the message; there's no "gee -- must have been a problem with my mailbox!" excuses.  Now -- whether they respond..............