US-90 between San Antonio and Van Horn, Texas

Started by ZLoth, March 18, 2021, 01:02:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ZLoth

As one of those post-Covid get-out-of-the-damn-house road trips, I'm thinking about driving south to San Antonio, then taking US-90 from San Antonio to Van Horn before returning to DFW on I-10. I'm targeting this trip for just after Memorial Day. Am I setting myself up for dull, boring, and how many Audible books do I have pre-downloaded for this trip?
I'm an Engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is beauty?", because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems and call them "paychecks".

oscar

Except for Marfa and (to a much lesser extent) Del Rio, that sounds about right.

Do you have time for a side trip to Big Bend National Park? About two hours round-trip detour from US 90, plus whatever time you spend exploring the park.
my Hot Springs and Highways pages, with links to my roads sites:
http://www.alaskaroads.com/home.html

kphoger

I haven't been there, but isn't Alpine a town worth stopping in for a bit?

Also, the stretch from San Antonio to Del Rio at least has enough traffic to keep a driver alert, right?
Keep right except to pass.  Yes.  You.
Visit scenic Orleans County, NY!
Male pronouns, please.

Quote from: Philip K. DickIf you can control the meaning of words, you can control the people who must use them.

Rothman

Quote from: kphoger on March 18, 2021, 01:52:12 PM
I haven't been there, but isn't Alpine a town worth stopping in for a bit?

It's a place where you can spend the night, but not a place of any note.

Please note: All comments here represent my own personal opinion and do not reflect the official position(s) of NYSDOT.

texaskdog

I went that way once but generally we take Us 290 to I 10  much more scenic.  The pecos bridge is cool  Get to Big Bend and/or Fort Davis.  heck just do that as a loop from home.

TXtoNJ