News:

Thanks to everyone for the feedback on what errors you encountered from the forum database changes made in Fall 2023. Let us know if you discover anymore.

Main Menu

People walking around with straw or hay hanging out of their mouths

Started by bandit957, March 25, 2022, 11:52:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bandit957

This was a thing around here back in the 1970s. Anyone else ever see this?

We lived near the edge of a big urban area, but a lot of people who lived on farms would go to stores around here. They would often have a big, long weed or a piece of straw or hay hanging out of their mouths the whole time. I think someone on 'Sesame Street' or 'Hee Haw' did it too.

I remember playing in the yard and pulling a big, long weed out of the ground and putting it in my mouth and pretending I was a farmer.
Might as well face it, pooing is cool

Max Rockatansky

It was a thing in a lot of media before then which was used to depict a stereotypical farmer.

LilianaUwU

Quote from: bandit957 on March 25, 2022, 11:52:49 PM
I remember playing in the yard and pulling a big, long weed out of the ground and putting it in my mouth and pretending I was a farmer.

Heh, I did that in elementary school.

I do wonder why farmers would have hay hanging out of their mouths, though.
"Volcano with no fire... Not volcano... Just mountain."
—Mr. Thwomp

My pronouns are she/her. Also, I'm an admin on the AARoads Wiki.

MATraveler128

Decommission 128 south of Peabody!

Lowest untraveled number: 56

Roadgeekteen

I chewed on all sorts of stuff when I was a little kid. Glad that's over.
God-emperor of Alanland, king of all the goats and goat-like creatures

Current Interstate map I am making:

https://www.google.com/maps/d/u/0/edit?hl=en&mid=1PEDVyNb1skhnkPkgXi8JMaaudM2zI-Y&ll=29.05778059819179%2C-82.48856825&z=5

Dirt Roads

I was so prone to having a toothpick, fieldstraw or broomstraw hanging out of my mouth that friends in North Florida starting calling me "Grits". 

bugo