How do you listen to media when driving?

Started by ZLoth, February 27, 2023, 08:31:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ZLoth

When driving, how do you listen to "media" to keep yourself entertained? By media, I am not only talking about music, but also news, talk, audiobooks, podcasts, and so on. As far as I can determine, the selections are:

• Terrestrial radio "over the air" (OTA)
  • Terrestrial radio via mobile app
  • Satellite-delivered radio
  • Streaming media via mobile app (e.g. Apple Music, Pandora, Spotify, Plex)
  • Pre-recorded physical media (CDs, cassette tapes)
  • Downloaded media via mobile app (e.g. Audible)
I'm an Engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is beauty?", because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems and call them "paychecks".

Max Rockatansky

I usually listen to ESPN radio (AM 1430 Fresno) for about the ten minutes it takes me get back and forth from the gym during weekdays.  Combined running time and driving to work I listen to about 12 hours (which is about 6 hours driving) of music and podcasts weekly. 

Rothman

YouTube liked videos and maybe their suggested ones.  Have a dashboard mount for my phone.
Please note: All comments here represent my own personal opinion and do not reflect the official position(s) of NYSDOT.

1995hoo

It varies. In local driving, regardless of which car I'm driving, I often turn on WTOP-FM to get the traffic reports because that information is essential for driving around here and their reports are the most available.