News:

Thank you for your patience during the Forum downtime while we upgraded the software. Welcome back and see this thread for some new features and other changes to the forum.

Main Menu

Transportation Technology "Bombs".

Started by thenetwork, January 23, 2024, 12:56:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

thenetwork

I was just thinking about some of the "technological advances" back in the day that were tried but were ineffective and bombed for whatever reasons?

Two examples:

Red lights with flashing white strobes,

Flourescent Day-glo colored signage (i.e. yellow warning signs that looked like they were a bright lemon-lime color),

The "Buckeye Crossbucks" at railroad crossings in Ohio. 

Others?
Others?

ZLoth

Two that come to mind:

• Morgantown Personal Rapid Transit
  • The Mobile Lounge at Dulles to transport passengers from terminal to plane
I'm an Engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is beauty?", because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems and call them "paychecks".

Bitmapped

Quote from: ZLoth on January 23, 2024, 01:06:49 PM
Two that come to mind:

The PRT remains in use 50 years later. It's very effective for its intended purpose, lots of other places copied a simplified version of the concept with automated people movers, and other similar systems have been built again in the past decade. I wouldn't say it's a bomb or a fundamental problem with the technology. Poor contract management and rushed political interference by the Nixon Administration helped cause the construction cost to balloon.

Big John

QuoteFlourescent Day-glo colored signage (i.e. yellow warning signs that looked like they were a bright lemon-lime color),
School related and some other pedestrian signs use this.

SEWIGuy

Rothman

Please note: All comments here represent my own personal opinion and do not reflect the official position(s) of NYSDOT.

Max Rockatansky