News:

Needing some php assistance with the script on the main AARoads site. Please contact Alex if you would like to help or provide advice!

Main Menu

Nevada License Plate Revoked for Defaming Californians

Started by ZLoth, July 11, 2023, 01:27:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ZLoth

From Newsweek:

Nevada License Plate Revoked for Defaming Californians
QuoteThe Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in Nevada has slammed the brakes on a license plate it believes has "defamed" everyone from California.

The license plate reading GOBK2CA–thought to mean "go back to California"–was revoked by Nevada's DMV in May, but the owner plans to appeal the decision this week, the Associated Press reported on Sunday.
FULL ARTICLE HERE
I'm an Engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is beauty?", because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems and call them "paychecks".

SP Cook

The message should be the state motto of Nevada, and about 10 other states.

Don't vote for what you fled. 

Road Hog

SectorZ

Quote from: SP Cook on July 11, 2023, 01:45:33 PM
The message should be the state motto of Nevada, and about 10 other states.

Don't vote for what you fled.

I thought it was a myth that the people fleeing were bringing their politics with them?

wanderer2575

I assume there's no law prohibiting a bumper sticker that reads GOBK2CA or TRMPSUX or FCKBLM (all fully spelled out) or whatever, so this skirmish seems like a waste of resources.

Here's an idea:  Let's eliminate custom license plate numbers; everyone gets the six- or seven-character sequence pulled from the pile at random, like the old days.  Sure, the state will lose the money from the additional fees, but isn't that a small price to pay to be sure nobody is offended?

ETA:  I concede the differentiation between bumper stickers and government-issued plates.

hotdogPi

Quote from: wanderer2575 on July 11, 2023, 02:58:19 PM