AARoads Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

New rules to ensure post quality. See this thread for details.

Author Topic: Favicon issue on AARoads?  (Read 3736 times)

snowc

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 803
  • Age: 20
  • Last Login: May 20, 2022, 01:43:40 PM
Favicon issue on AARoads?
« on: April 01, 2021, 03:02:51 PM »

Apparently, there is a green cyclone instead of the blue shield with the two A's in it. It is seen below

It's supposed to be this.

Anybody realize this? Must be me, because I connected to another network.
Logged

1

  • *
  • Online Online

  • Posts: 11883
  • Age: 23
  • Location: MA/NH border
  • Last Login: Today at 05:19:41 PM
    • Flickr account
Re: Favicon issue on AARoads?
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2021, 03:10:51 PM »

Sometimes it takes the form of another website for me. I currently see the correct logo, but that's not always the case.
Logged
Clinched

Traveled, plus several sub-national routes

Flickr: Click the globe under my avatar

snowc

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 803
  • Age: 20
  • Last Login: May 20, 2022, 01:43:40 PM
Re: Favicon issue on AARoads?
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2021, 03:16:02 PM »

Sometimes it takes the form of another website for me. I currently see the correct logo, but that's not always the case.
Nevermind, seems to work now. I was connected to my hotel's wifi and it showed that, now it shows the correct logo.
Logged

JoePCool14

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 2279
  • I'm surrounded by IDiOTs.

  • Age: 21
  • Location: Illinois / Wisconsin
  • Last Login: June 20, 2022, 10:57:57 PM
Re: Favicon issue on AARoads?
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2021, 06:48:48 PM »

Okay, who else thought this was another April Fools joke? Or was I the only one?
Logged

:) Needs more... :sombrero: Not quite... :bigass: Perfect.
JDOT: We make the world a better place to drive.
My Travel Mapping stats

Scott5114

  • *
  • *
  • Online Online

  • Posts: 15236
  • Nit picker of unprecedented pedantry

  • Age: 32
  • Location: Norman, OK
  • Last Login: Today at 05:20:29 PM
    • Denexa 100% Plastic Playing Cards
Re: Favicon issue on AARoads?
« Reply #4 on: April 01, 2021, 06:51:38 PM »

Since hotel wifi was mentioned, it probably involved a redirect to an "accept the terms of service" page, and the favicon for that page was cached by the browser and used for AARoads.

In the future if something like this happens, do a hard refresh of the page, which loads all of the assets from scratch rather than using the cache. On Firefox that's Ctrl+Shift+R.
Logged

webny99

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 10367
  • Left lane is for passing, not camping!

  • Age: 22
  • Location: Monroe County, NY
  • Last Login: Today at 11:51:42 AM
Re: Favicon issue on AARoads?
« Reply #5 on: April 01, 2021, 09:08:10 PM »

Okay, who else thought this was another April Fools joke? Or was I the only one?

Nope. Same here.  :-P
Logged
On April 25, 2022, I became the 20th user in forum history to Like the Forum Way, Way Too Much. And then I found that there's another way...
__ _______ ___ __ _______ _____

snowc

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 803
  • Age: 20
  • Last Login: May 20, 2022, 01:43:40 PM
Re: Favicon issue on AARoads?
« Reply #6 on: April 02, 2021, 10:08:41 AM »

Since hotel wifi was mentioned, it probably involved a redirect to an "accept the terms of service" page, and the favicon for that page was cached by the browser and used for AARoads.

In the future if something like this happens, do a hard refresh of the page, which loads all of the assets from scratch rather than using the cache. On Firefox that's Ctrl+Shift+R.
I will take that into account for the near future.
Logged

 


Opinions expressed here on belong solely to the poster and do not represent or reflect the opinions or beliefs of AARoads, its creators and/or associates.