News:

Needing some php assistance with the script on the main AARoads site. Please contact Alex if you would like to help or provide advice!

Main Menu

Mounting a dash cam.... and not for time lapse road videos

Started by ZLoth, August 04, 2014, 09:29:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ZLoth

I'm not a parent, but the thought crossed my mind....

With the advances in technology, you can now purchase a dash cam for about $70 from Amazon which will not only record the road in front, but also the driver. Would you consider putting one in for your teenage driver as a condition for having a driver's license and using the car? How about for an employee in a company owned vehicle?
I'm an Engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is beauty?", because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems and call them "paychecks".

US81

Hypothetical for me at this point in my life; I don't have a company-owned vehicle and my children are grown. But I think I would probably place one in a company-owned vehicle, making all drivers aware. I wouldn't have used one with either of my children, but there is a certain subset of reckless teenager for whom this might be a valid option.

At the risk of going slightly off-topic: after witnessing / experiencing (as a front-seat passenger) a particular encounter with law enforcement, I've been seriously considering this type of dash cam for my personal vehicles.

Duke87

Employees: unless they are police officers, no. Cops need to be on camera for public accountability. But for people who do not have law enforcement authority, this is not a concern and babysitting them is insulting and pointless.

Teen driver: not on day one, although it might be something to consider if the teen proves themself untrustworthy.
If you always take the same road, you will never see anything new.

Brandon

Quote from: Duke87 on August 04, 2014, 11:00:55 PM