Drivers will soon pay twice as much to use ZipCash on North Texas toll roads

Started by ZLoth, June 01, 2023, 06:06:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ZLoth

From KDFW (Fox):

Drivers will soon pay twice as much to use ZipCash on North Texas toll roads
QuoteNorth Texas drivers who use toll roads without a TollTag account will soon pay twice as much as those who do.

The rate for ZipCash users is currently 50% higher than TollTag users. Beginning on July 1, it will be 100% higher.
FULL ARTICLE HERE

NTTA News Release in PDF format
I'm an Engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is beauty?", because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems and call them "paychecks".

GaryV

Somebody's got to check their math. Going from 50% premium to 100% over the Tag price is not double. The premium is double, but the overall toll is not.

LilianaUwU

Quote from: GaryV on June 01, 2023, 06:29:48 PM
Somebody's got to check their math. Going from 50% premium to 100% over the Tag price is not double. The premium is double, but the overall toll is not.
I mean, what did you expect from FOX?
"Volcano with no fire... Not volcano... Just mountain."
—Mr. Thwomp

My pronouns are she/her. Also, I'm an admin on the AARoads Wiki.

ZLoth

Quote from: LilianaUwU on June 01, 2023, 06:44:21 PM

The short length of the news article means that someone in the KDFW newsroom took the essential information from the NTTA press release and reposted it as "news" in ten minutes or less.
I'm an Engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is beauty?", because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems and call them "paychecks".

sprjus4

If the ZipCash toll is 100% more than the TollTag rate... then it's double. If the toll is $5, 100% of $5 is $5, so the toll would be $10. So... double the overall toll.

Quote from: LilianaUwU on June 01, 2023, 06:44:21 PM