News:

Thanks to everyone for the feedback on what errors you encountered from the forum database changes made in Fall 2023. Let us know if you discover anymore.

Main Menu

Map Collecting Newbie Here: Greetings From Raleigh & Charlotte!

Started by davidals, June 03, 2012, 09:54:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

davidals

I can't say precisely how exactly I came across this forum, but it's been awfully interesting looking around.

I've been a roadgeek since birth - roughly between the ages of 18 and 35 I played bass and electric guitar in a series of indie rock bands that went nowhere, professionally speaking - a coupla showcase gigs for major labels that went egad when we finished, a blurb in Billboard that got us one form letter from MCA (Music Cemetary of America) Records.  But I did have the opportunity to play with a handful of great groups, in the insular world of indie rock, and the opportunity to do quite a lot of traveling around was amazing beyond words.  I developed a marked preference for the non-interstate method of getting from A to B whenever time permitted, and have found beauty everywhere from rural West Virginia to the concrete canyons of Manhattan, watching the flying tail lights of yellow cabs from the stoop of a rock club in the East Village at 2 A.M.

Between rock & roll, and family (mom's family:  East Coast people, dad's family:  West Coast people) and friends I've seen both coasts in quite a bit of detail - lots and lots of amazing cities and very interesting small towns.  I have yet to see most of what lies in between.  It's on the list.