News:

Thanks to everyone for the feedback on what errors you encountered at https://www.aaroads.com/forum/index.php?topic=33904.0
Corrected several already and appreciate your patience as we work through the rest.

Main Menu

OKC-Colorado Springs Road Trip in 2022

Started by Cerlin, November 03, 2021, 02:20:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Cerlin

Hey y'all! Just created my account a few days ago (college student who has a newfound interest in Interstates) so this is my first real post on here.

In January of next year, I'm taking a road trip to Colorado Springs from the OKC metro. It's my first real road trip since moving out so I'm pretty excited since I've always wanted to visit the mountains in the winter. I'm a weather nerd by trade so I know for most, that wouldn't be an optimal time to do a road trip, but it's thrilling to me at least.

I'm curious for any suggestions on what to do on the way there and if my route makes sense. I plan to do the drive there in one day, stay for a few days, and then do the drive back in one day as well. I also wanted to take two separate routes as to see more of the country while also avoiding the Oklahoma panhandle.

There:
I-35 from Norman to OKC.
I-40 from OKC to Amarillo but driving on historic parts of 66 where they exist.
Stopping for lunch in Amarillo (I have family from there and want to see Cadillac Ranch)
U.S. 87 from Amarillo to junction with I-25
I-25 to C.S.

Back:
I-25 from C.S. to Denver
I-70 from Denver to Salina (I want a cozy inn burger)
I-135 from Salina to Wichita
1-35 From Wichita to Norman

Anything that would be cool to stop and see on either of those routes or anything that I should be weary of (other than Colorado in the wintertime)?

I appreciate any input!
Hypocritical Leftist who loves driving/highways and all modes of transportation.

JayhawkCO

Quote from: Cerlin on November 03, 2021, 02:20:10 PM