News:

Thanks to everyone for the feedback on what errors you encountered from the forum database changes made in Fall 2023. Let us know if you discover anymore.

Main Menu

Who is working Thanksgiving 2013?

Started by ZLoth, November 21, 2013, 12:48:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ZLoth

So, the question I have to pose is who is working on a paying job on Thursday, November 28th, and why?

For me, because my shift starts at 10 PM, Wednesday is considered a normal work day, and thus I will be working into Thanksgiving morning. Then 10 PM Thursday is considered a "holiday" shift. I work in technical support where we have to be open 24/7 (and, lets face it, only the United States is celebrating Thanksgiving. Canada celebrated Thanksgiving in October).
I'm an Engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is beauty?", because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems and call them "paychecks".

froggie

Not this year, but last year I worked Thanksgiving because of deployment.

Brandon

No.  Being what I am, an environmental engineer in a consulting capacity, I have Thanksgiving off.  I do, however, get paid.  :)
"If you think this has a happy ending, you haven't been paying attention." - Ramsay Bolton, "Game of Thrones"

"Symbolic of his struggle against reality." - Reg, "Monty Python's Life of Brian"

hbelkins

If we get snow on Thanksgiving or there is another emergency situation which requires communication to the public about road conditions, I will have to work some, but I will be able to do it from home. Thursday and Friday are paid holidays for me.

Government would be tolerable if not for politicians and bureaucrats.

1995hoo

Nope. Going to Florida to visit relatives for the week. Even though the day after Thanksgiving isn't a holiday, the courts are closed, and my wife's firm gives them that day off in lieu of Veterans Day, so it's easy to make a four-day weekend of it.