News:

Thanks to everyone for the feedback on what errors you encountered from the forum database changes made in Fall 2023. Let us know if you discover anymore.

Main Menu

Hampton Roads Article Corrections

Started by deathtopumpkins, January 18, 2009, 12:45:45 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

deathtopumpkins

I was reading through the Hampton Roads article (linkie), and noticed a few things that were outdated and/or incorrect. I am currently a resident of Hampton, and soon to be Virginia Beach, and so I drive on these highways almost every day.

Including:
QuoteWidening expands the Hampton segment west of Interstate 664 to eight lanes by 2001.
I think it's high time to change this, as that project was completed a while back now, albeit over schedule. It's been widened to eight lanes from Mercury Blvd. (US-258) to Jefferson Ave. (VA-143) with the inner lane in each direction being HOV during rush hour.

QuoteSouth of Interstate 264, the highway carries six plus two HOV-2 lanes through to the Battlefield Boulevard (Virginia 168) interchange.
This is not necessarily true anymore, as I drove down I-64 to VS-168 (which is the Chesapeake Expressway--Battlefied Blvd. is VA-168 Bus.) about two weeks ago or so, and the stretch of freeway from south of I-264 to the VA-168 & I-464 interchange was a huge construction site, with a local/express setup partially open and a massive new interchange for Battlefield Blvd. Even with some lane closures it was considerably wider than that, though I cannot remember the exact number it was.