News:

The AARoads Wiki is live! Come check it out!

Main Menu

Was K-10, 23rd Street interchange overbuilt?

Started by dom1_4802, June 16, 2021, 09:11:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dom1_4802

I am just curious what everybody's opinion is on the Kansas 10, 23rd Street interchange?

I live in De Soto and drive through it just about every other day. I have a hard time believing that the traffic counts do and ever will justify that kind of interchange for a non-freeway termination. What was the justification for spending that kind of money on two flyover ramps? My understanding is that bridges are f***ing expensive, and that EB 10 to WB 23rd St flyover must've cost a fortune.

However, all the being said, I am not a traffic engineer, nor do I have enough expertise/knowledge on the subject to really make a judgment.

If I turn out not to be a weirdo, and others do share my opinion, what interchange alternative would've worked better?

I'm looking forward to hearing your thoughts.

mvak36

Quote from: dom1_4802 on June 16, 2021, 09:11:31 PM
I am just curious what everybody's opinion is on the Kansas 10, 23rd Street interchange?

I live in De Soto and drive through it just about every other day. I have a hard time believing that the traffic counts do and ever will justify that kind of interchange for a non-freeway termination. What was the justification for spending that kind of money on two flyover ramps? My understanding is that bridges are f***ing expensive, and that EB 10 to WB 23rd St flyover must've cost a fortune.

However, all the being said, I am not a traffic engineer, nor do I have enough expertise/knowledge on the subject to really make a judgment.

If I turn out not to be a weirdo, and others do share my opinion, what interchange alternative would've worked better?

I believe the K-10 freeway used to end at 23rd street before they opened up the part of the freeway from 23rd st to US59 in 2016. So that could be why the ramps are like that.