Why no GSV on the GWB or the Bayonne Bridge?

Started by ixnay, February 27, 2022, 07:02:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ixnay

The PA has been nice enough to let Google 's camera truck photograph the Lincoln, Holland, (new) Goethals, and Outerbridge.  Why not the George or the Bayonne? 

I remember a few years ago this being discussed but I'm too lazy to search  :D  Please reiterate.

LilianaUwU

I'm pretty sure the TL;DR is post-9/11 restrictions, though I could be wrong.
"Volcano with no fire... Not volcano... Just mountain."
—Mr. Thwomp

My pronouns are she/her. Also, I'm an admin on the AARoads Wiki.

1995hoo

There is no legally enforceable restriction, but the Port Authority pretends they can ban photography and Google decided to be imtimidated by that.
"You know, you never have a guaranteed spot until you have a spot guaranteed."
—Olaf Kolzig, as quoted in the Washington Times on March 28, 2003,
commenting on the Capitals clinching a playoff spot.

"That sounded stupid, didn't it?"
—Kolzig, to the same reporter a few seconds later.

jmacswimmer

I think the Verrazzano is also GSV-less, but it's under MTAB&T control unlike the 2 PANYNJ bridges in the OP.
"Now, what if da Bearss were to enter the Indianapolis 5-hunnert?"
"How would they compete?"
"Let's say they rode together in a big buss."
"Is Ditka driving?"
"Of course!"
"Then I like da Bear buss."
"DA BEARSSS BUSSSS"

1995hoo

Quote from: jmacswimmer on February 28, 2022, 08:32:35 AM
I think the Verrazzano is also GSV-less, but it's under MTAB&T control unlike the 2 PANYNJ bridges in the OP.

It does lack GSV imagery for most of the span, as does the Battery Tunnel (though not the Midtown Tunnel and not the other TBTA bridges–the Whitestone and the Throgs Neck have imagery, for example).
"You know, you never have a guaranteed spot until you have a spot guaranteed."
—Olaf Kolzig, as quoted in the Washington Times on March 28, 2003,
commenting on the Capitals clinching a playoff spot.