News:

The AARoads Wiki is live! Come check it out!

Main Menu

Take Your Health Seriously

Started by NWI_Irish96, February 23, 2022, 07:12:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

NWI_Irish96

This post is meant to be an informative warning--I don't do this seeking sympathy.

I've always struggled with weight. I'm 6' 1" tall (1.85 m for our Canadian and European friends). Through high school, I was a student manager on the football team, played on the golf team, and golfed 3-4 times a week every summer (almost always walking, very rarely riding a cart). Even though I was moderately active, I was 220 lbs (99.8 kg) when I graduated high school.

Then in college golfing with friends got replaced by playing Madden (the original) with friends, and eating home cooked meals was replaced by dining hall food and lots of pizza. The freshmen 15 was more like the freshmen 40 for me, and by the time I graduated I weighed at least 300 lbs (136.1 kg), but I was never really weighing myself so I can't be sure.

After college and grad school, I was living by myself and the bad eating and exercise habits continued. I was close to 400 lbs (181.4 kg) when I got married at age 29. My wife was also really fat so that really didn't help things any as we both just accepted each other as is.

A few years after getting married, my wife finally got tired of being fat and got gastric bypass surgery. She encouraged me to get it as well, but I had a very irrational fear of general anesthesia. I feared being put under and never waking up. Plus I had the stubborn notion that I could beat this without surgery, despite the years of evidence to the contrary.