News:

Thank you for your patience during the Forum downtime while we upgraded the software. Welcome back and see this thread for some new features and other changes to the forum.

Main Menu

Rivian, GM and no CarPlay on Electric Vehicles

Started by ZLoth, April 09, 2023, 05:47:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ZLoth

From 9to5Mac:

Here's why Rivian refuses to support CarPlay
QuoteSTORY
FULL ARTICLE HERE

Not like I can afford a Rivian or Tesla anyways... even if I wanted one (I don't).

From Reuters via Yahoo:

GM plans to phase out Apple CarPlay in EVs, with Google's help
QuoteGeneral Motors plans to phase out widely-used Apple CarPlay and Android Auto technologies that allow drivers to bypass a vehicle's infotainment systems, shifting instead to built-in infotainment systems developed with Google for future electric vehicles.
FULL ARTICLE HERE

It makes me wonder if Apple's price was just too high...
I'm an Engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is beauty?", because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems and call them "paychecks".

JoePCool14

Apple's price maybe was too high, but it also seems like a money-making scheme for them to charge for services like navigation built-in.

If my next vehicle, whenever that is, doesn't have CarPlay, I'll just get a phone mount and use that instead connected to Bluetooth/wired. CarPlay is very convenient given I use Apple Music and Apple Maps.

:) Needs more... :sombrero: Not quite... :bigass: Perfect.
JDOT: We make the world a better place to drive.
Travel Mapping | 60+ Clinches | 260+ Traveled | 8000+ Miles Logged

Max Rockatansky

CarPlay is a nice side feature on my base 2019 Impreza.  That said, I would be totally lying if I said it has any bearing on why I purchased an Impreza for a daily driver.

Duke87