News:

Thanks to everyone for the feedback on what errors you encountered from the forum database changes made in Fall 2023. Let us know if you discover anymore.

Main Menu

Lombard and other crazy streets around the world

Started by ZLoth, May 25, 2014, 04:36:02 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ZLoth

From SF Gate:

Lombard and other crazy streets around the world
QuoteSan Francisco's famous Lombard Street will close to cars during four busy weekends this summer, the city's Municipal Transportation Agency Board of Directors decided Tuesday.

The famously steep, twisty street attracts throngs of tourists, creating safety and access problems, and annoying the area's affluent residents.

If this decision ruins your summer plans to visit the crazy roadway, we're here to help. Click through the gallery above for a handy guide to other odd city streets around the world.
FULL ARTICLE HERE
I'm an Engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is beauty?", because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems and call them "paychecks".

english si

if it's closed to cars, how will residents park their car by their house?

When I went to it, while there was some tourist motor vehicle traffic, it made up less than half the motor vehicle traffic, with residents forming the majority. It was quite fun to see cars attempt a reverse through the pedestrians on the sidewalk.

elsmere241

Bill Cosby once said, "They built a street up there called Lombard Street that goes straight down, and they're not satisfied with you killing yourself that way–they put grooves and curves and everything in it, and they put flowers there where they've buried the people that have killed themselves."

BrianP

Alps

Shippen St., Weehawken is NJ's local contribution to the Lombard hysteria. Not quite as long, but the curves are packed even tighter.

Revive 755

There's Snake Alley in Burlington, Iowa as an Iowa version of Lombard Street.