News:

Thanks to everyone for the feedback on what errors you encountered from the forum database changes made in Fall 2023. Let us know if you discover anymore.

Main Menu

Hawaii Missile Alert Fiasco

Started by bing101, January 13, 2018, 11:44:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bing101

ZLoth

I'm an Engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is beauty?", because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems and call them "paychecks".

Hurricane Rex

I was worried when I first heard it but when I heard the false alarm and the reason why, I was laughing histerically.
ODOT, raise the speed limit and fix our traffic problems.

Road and weather geek for life.

Running till I die.

jakeroot

I have several friends who live in Hawaii (on the big island). They were all running to be with loved ones, since most people don't have shelter. As far as they knew, their world was ending.

Stephane Dumas

Quote from: Hurricane Rex on January 14, 2018, 01:49:02 AM
I was worried when I first heard it but when I heard the false alarm and the reason why, I was laughing histerically.

If these false alarms occur more often, the trouble is when it'll be real, people will think then it's just another false alarm and it ends like the tale of the boy who cried wolf.

english si

Quote from: Stephane Dumas on January 14, 2018, 07:58:22 AMIf these false alarms occur more often, the trouble is when it'll be real, people will think then it's just another false alarm and it ends like the tale of the boy who cried wolf.
Given we're talking nukes, it's not really a wolf one can protect yourself from. Hiding under desks at school, Protect and Survive, etc wouldn't actually work. Being blissfully unaware is probably a good thing - you don't really want a panic created.