News:

Thanks to everyone for the feedback on what errors you encountered from the forum database changes made in Fall 2023. Let us know if you discover anymore.

Main Menu

A game that I have been playing for almost 8 years

Started by hotdogPi, August 28, 2014, 10:22:08 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

hotdogPi

I call it the Number Finding game.

I started when I was 7 years old, looking for the number 1. Then a 2, then a 3, and so on. After about a month, I got into the 3 digit range.

Currently, I am looking for a 574. I could find it in many ways, some of which are common ways of finding numbers:

House number 574.
License plate 357 400.
Dollar bill serial number 25743230.
$5.74 item in a store.
Phone number 311-895-7423. (Completely made up, but don't call it just in case)
Route 574.
The year 1574 in a history textbook.
Mile marker 57.4

And many other ways, too. If there is punctuation or a space in between the digits, it still counts.

Once, I find the 574, I look for a 575 (which shouldn't be too hard because some prices are $5.75).

If something has consecutive numbers, like the clock, the odometer, exit numbers, or mile markers, I can only count it once. If I am looking for a 608, I can count the time 6:08, but getting any after that from the clock would be cheating until I find a 609 somewhere else.

Writing or typing the number, searching digits of pi, and other similar things are not allowed.

One thing that I do is that I keep track of future numbers. I know where a 577 is, and I can go to that place when I need to find a 577.

I will not count anything on this forum done in an attempt to show the number I am looking for, since that would be cheating.

If you have any questions about this game, or if it seems confusing, you can ask here.

Maybe you could start playing yourself! If you do, you can share your progress here.
Clinched, minus I-93 (I'm missing a few miles and my file is incorrect)