News:

Needing some php assistance with the script on the main AARoads site. Please contact Alex if you would like to help or provide advice!

Main Menu

Why Android Auto Users Listen to the Radio Instead of Streaming Music

Started by ZLoth, October 23, 2023, 05:39:47 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ZLoth

From autoevolution:

QuoteAndroid Auto and CarPlay are fantastic concepts that allow drivers to interact with the apps installed on mobile devices without getting distracted.
FULL ARTICLE HERE

The thing is... if I'm only going to be driving 5-10 minutes for an errand, what is the point in going through the effort of pairing up to Bluetooth mode and starting the app?
I'm an Engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is beauty?", because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems and call them "paychecks".

MikeTheActuary

I don't have Android Auto in my car, but my experience in rentals after I do an initial pairing has been that It Just Works.   

With my car (a 2014 Forester), Bluetooth has auto-connected with my audio system and the Echo Auto unit I have installed (I drank Jeff Bezos' Kool Aid) by the time I'm out my driveway (which, conveniently, is about when my phone gives up on the house wi-fi, and accepts that it needs to use cellular data).

I'm an oddball that never signed on with Spotify, since I joined Amazon Music back in the days when it was still possible to add your own mp3s to your subscription, and I had a rather large collection of songs/artists that weren't (and several still aren't) present on any of the streaming services.   I avoid the "listen to the same music" phenomenon by maintaining my own, rather large playlists, with names given in such a way as to minimize headaches launching them ("Alexa, shuffle my playlist, Playlist Alpha".)