News:

The AARoads Wiki is live! Come check it out!

Main Menu

Spring break in Texas (3/12-3/20)

Started by SkyPesos, March 21, 2022, 01:32:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

SkyPesos

Last week was my university's spring break, so I spent that entire week down in Texas.

Day 1 (3/12)
Left West Lafayette IN on IN 25, then turned onto I-74 WB, crossing into IL. Then turned onto I-57 SB, which we continued all the way south to its terminus. This is my first time driving on a non-concurrent part of I-57, as my previous times on I-57 are only on its concurrencies with I-64 and I-70. Then turned onto I-55 south all the way to I-40, which then we turned west towards Little Rock, which is also the first time I've ever entered Arkansas. Then turned onto I-30 at exit 153B, staying on it to exit 111 (US 70), which then we used to Hot Springs, where we stayed for the first night, near Lake Hamilton.

New routes on day 1: IN 25, IL 32 (fuel stop), IL 33 (fuel stop), US 60 (concurrent with I-57), MO 84 (fuel stop), I-30, US 65 (concurrent with I-30), US 167 (concurrent with I-30), US 270 (concurrent with US 70), AR 88 (new number), AR 7

Day 2 (3/13)
We spent the morning in Hot Springs National Park, before continuing the drive on I-30 to the first city we're stopping at in the Texas Triangle: the DFW Metroplex. Our intention for the first attraction to visit is the JFK Sixth Floor museum, but unfortunately, tickets were sold out when we arrived, so we settled for the Perot museum. After that, did some walking in downtown Dallas, then ate dinner at a Korean BBQ place in northwest Dallas (at Koryo Korean BBQ), getting there via I-35E, then settled for the night at our hotel (Hyatt Place Las Collinas), which we got to from the restaurant via I-35E, TX 348 and TX 114.

New routes on day 2: US 75, TX 366, I-35E (if counted separately from I-35, which I don't), TX Loop 12, TX 348 (new number), TX 114 (new number)

Day 3 (3/14)