AARoads Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The AARoads Wiki is live! Come check it out!

Author Topic: Yokohl Valley Drive/Mountain Route 296 and County Route J37/Balch Park Road  (Read 3865 times)

Max Rockatansky

• Last Login: Today at 12:44:16 AM
    • Gribblenation

What's a day off with good weather that shouldn't include a mountain drive?  I've never tried Yokohl Valley Drive before so I figured it would be worth a go since it was only 23 miles from CA 198 to County Route J37.  Starting out in Yokohl there is a clear Mountain Route reference of 296 on the street blade at CA 198:

IMG_4854 by Max Rockatansky, on Flickr

Yokohl Valley Drive isn't anything too crazy starting out at approximately 500 feet and is pretty deceptively normal up to where it splits east from Myer Drive:

IMG_4859 by Max Rockatansky, on Flickr

IMG_4860 by Max Rockatansky, on Flickr

The road narrows down quite a bit heading through the valley leading east but it isn't anything too concerning just yet:

IMG_4861 by Max Rockatansky, on Flickr

IMG_4863 by Max Rockatansky, on Flickr

Twelve miles in is the first warning sign about the road becoming windy:

IMG_4867 by Max Rockatansky, on Flickr

Which offers some pretty awesome views of the Sierras:

IMG_4870 by Max Rockatansky, on Flickr

Some nice older culvert work:

IMG_4872 by Max Rockatansky, on Flickr

Things start to get pretty bad with the pavement as the elevation starts to climb:

IMG_4873 by Max Rockatansky, on Flickr

IMG_4874 by Max Rockatansky, on Flickr

Max Rockatansky

• Gribblenation

This warning sign about the road becoming too narrow for trucks or trailers is where Yokohl Valley Drive starts a large uphill ascent:

IMG_4875 by Max Rockatansky, on Flickr

The road gets extremely narrow at this point, I'm actually surprised there is a maintained center stripe:

IMG_4876 by Max Rockatansky, on Flickr